AFA is happy to announce the first ever winners of the Michelle Rosaldo Book Prize, named for Michelle Rosaldo, a cultural, linguistic, and psychological anthropologist famous for her studies of the Ilongot people of the Philippines and for her pioneering role in women’s studies and the anthropology of gender.

This annual book prize is given to a first book that embodies the theoretical rigor, ethnographic richness and advancement of feminist scholarship marked by Rosaldos career.  


2015 Award Winners

Lucinda Ramberg
Cornell University

Given to the Goddess:  South Asian Devadasis and the Sexuality of Religion, Duke University Press, 2014




Honorable Mention:
Elise Andaya
University at Albany, State University of New York (SUNY) 

Conceiving Cuba:  Reproduction, Women, and the State in the Post-Soviet Era, Rutgers University Press, 2014.




See the interview with Lucinda Ramberg  here