Current Awards

2022 Association for Feminist Anthropology Awards: Call for Nominations

Each year, AFA offers awards and recognitions that reflect our commitment to foster the development of feminist analytic perspectives in all dimensions of anthropology. Please note that only AFA members are eligible to receive awards.

Senior Book Prize

The Association for Feminist Anthropology (AFA) is pleased to invite nominations for the Association’s Senior Book Prize. The prize awards a senior scholar for a book that advances the theory, method, and epistemological scope of feminist anthropology. The Senior Book Prize recognizes second (or subsequent) books that exemplify feminist anthropological theory and anthropology and that help to move the field in bold new directions. Edited volumes will not be considered. The prize is open to feminist scholarship in all subfields of anthropology.


Submissions must be 1) beyond the first book, 2) published in 2020 or 2021, and 3) must be published in English.

Please send a signed letter of nomination specifying how the book meets the criteria to the chair of the prize committee by May 1, 2022. Self-nominations and nominations from presses are not eligible. Authors must be members of the AAA and AFA to receive the award.

The nomination letter may be sent by e-mail to the committee chair, Akiko Takeyama <>. The chair will provide mailing addresses of the three judges so that the author arranges to send one copy of the book to each of them. The judges must receive books by May 10, 2022.

Application Deadline: May 1, (every other year on even calendar years)

 Dissertation Grant

In its mission to support graduate students to successfully complete their dissertations, each year AFA offers one $2000 grant to support a feminist scholar. We invite ABD students, from all subfields of Anthropology, who center feminist anthropology and methodology in their research.  The doctoral candidate may be pursuing an anthropology or interdisciplinary doctoral degree and must be at the dissertation completion phase at the time of the American Anthropological Association Annual Meetings.

Application Deadline: June 1, Annually

Learn more about the Dissertation Grant

 Sylvia Forman Student Paper Prize

AFA is pleased to invite graduate and undergraduate students to submit essays in feminist anthropology for the Sylvia Forman Student Paper Prize competition, named for the late Sylvia Helen Forman, one of the founders of AFA whose dedication to both her students and feminist principles contributed to the growth of feminist anthropology.  We encourage essays in all four subfields of anthropology. Essays may be based on research on a wide variety of topics including (but not limited to) feminist analysis of women’s work, education, reproduction, sexuality, religion, and expressive culture, language, family and kin relations, economic development, gender and material culture, gender and biology, women and development, globalization, and intersectionalities of gender, race, sexuality, and class.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Candidates must be undergraduates or graduate students at the time of submission; there are two separate competitions, one for undergrads and one for grads.
  2. Paper manuscripts accepted for publication or published are not eligible.
  3. Only one submission per student will be accepted.
  4. Candidates cannot receive the same AFA award more than once.

Evaluation Criteria

Essays will be judged on:

  1. Originality of research topic
  2. Use of feminist anthropological theory to analyze a research question
  3. Organization, quality, and clarity of writing
  4. Effective use of both theory and data
  5. Significance to scholarship in feminist anthropology
  6. Timeliness and relevance of topic

Application Process

  1. Submit a cover letter identifying whether you are an undergraduate or graduate student; provide your institutional affiliation, mailing address, telephone number and e-mail address for notification.
  2. Submit a manuscript that is not more than 35 double-spaced pages, including references cited.

Note: For essays that have been submitted but not yet accepted for publication, contact the Forman Prize Chair (via well before the submission deadline.

Application Deadline: May 1, Annually

Learn more about the Sylvia Forman Student Paper Prize

 Zora Neale Hurston Student Travel Award

Awards of $500 each for conference travel or conference registration for remote participation will be awarded for the 2022 Annual Meetings of the American Anthropological Association. Any remaining award funds can be applied to registration for Spring 2023 meetings of AAA affiliated sections; the award must be used by May 1, 2023. Eligibility is restricted to students and recent PhDs (2020 or later) from underrepresented groups, whose work reflects the goals of feminist anthropology. Applicants must be giving a paper, organizing a session, or seeking employment at the Annual Meetings. Application materials are: (1) a CV; (2) presentation abstract or, if not presenting, a statement explaining your goals for attending the meeting; and (3) an email verifying registration for the AAA annual meeting.

Application Deadline: Sept 15, Annually

Learn more about the Zora Neale Hurston Student Travel Award

If you have any questions about AFA Awards, please email us at

Best of luck and thank you for your continued support of the Association for Feminist Anthropology!