The Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA) is proud to announce the 2016 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Competition for outstanding anthropological scholarship on a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer topic.

The Ruth Benedict Book Prize is presented each year at the American
Anthropological Association’s annual meeting to acknowledge excellence
in a scholarly book written from an anthropological perspective about a
topic that engages issues and theoretical perspectives relevant to LGBTQ
studies. The Prize is awarded in each of two separate categories, one
for a single-authored monograph and another for an edited volume.

Submissions may be on any topic related to lesbians, gay men, bisexuals,
transgender people, or other gender/sexual formations and categories
from any world culture area. Topics may include the study of
normativity, queer theory, and the social/historical construction of
sexual and gender identities, discourses, and categories. Authors may
represent any scholarly discipline, but the material submitted must
engage anthropological theories and methods. Submissions may be
self-nominated or may be sent by a press or another person.

Books submitted for the competition must have a publication date of 2015
or 2016 and may not have been submitted previously. Page proofs of books
scheduled for 2016 publication are acceptable but must include a letter
from the publisher confirming the anticipated publication date of 2016.

To nominate a work, please submit one copy of the book or edited
volume to each of the four committee members listed below, with the
author or editor’s name, mailing address, and email address, and
telephone number printed clearly on a separate cover letter indicating
that it is a submission for the Ruth Benedict Book Prize.

*All submissions must be received by Monday, June 13, 2016*.

Send inquiries to Ruth Benedict Book Prize Chair, Naisargi Dave
([email protected])

2016 Ruth Benedict Book Prize Committee Members: Jara Carrington, Noelle
Stout, Naisargi Dave, and Rudolf Gaudio.

Comments are closed.